Santa Montefiore: The Daughters of Ireland

International sensation Santa Montefiore presents the second book in her romantic and unforgettable Deverill Chronicles trilogy, which follows three Irish women through the decades of the twentieth century—perfect for fans of Beatriz Williams and Kate Morton.

Perched majestically atop the lush emerald hills of West Cork, Ireland, Castle Deverill has been the home to several generations of the Deverills. But when the castle fell prey to a devastating attack during the Irish revolt, the ancestral home’s survival was at stake—until Celia Mayberry and her husband buy the estate and vow to restore Castle Deverill to its former glory. For Celia, the castle holds many fond childhood memories when she ran through its vast halls with her cousin Kitty Deverill and their cherished friend Bridie Doyle.

But not everyone is elated. Although Kitty is grateful to her cousin for purchasing the manor and ensuring it will remain in the family, she cannot help but be wistful for the days when she was the mistress of Castle Deverill. While she is content in her new life with her husband Robert and her adopted son JP, her heart still yearns for Jack O’Leary—the man she cannot have. As Kitty struggles with her choices, she must make a heartbreaking decision that could bring her the greatest joy, but hurt those closest to her.

Now wealthy and the toast of the town in New York City, Bridie Doyle has come a long way since she was a young girl in Ireland and the daughter of one of the maids at Castle Deverill. But all her money cannot ease the pain over giving away her baby. When she finds love, she is tempted to return to her beloved homeland—even if it means she will have to face the woman she still longs to seek revenge against.

As Celia wastes no time, or expense, in hiring workers to renovate Castle Deverill—even when the country soon finds itself in the midst of the Great Depression—she has no idea that her world is about to be shattered. Now everything that felt so certain is cast into doubt as this daughter of Ireland must find the inner strength to build a new future.

At first, I felt like I was missing so many pieces of the puzzle. I jumped right into the deep end of the pool without floaties on. Who is this person, and this person? There is some kind of curse and the castle is doomed? There was a fire and EVERYONE is connected to everyone in some twisted way.

WHAT the WHAT?

Then I realized…this is the SECOND book in a trilogy. *facepalm*

Sometimes second books can stand alone–this one, however, cannot. And there is no indication on the cover that this is part of a trilogy, so I have a feeling a lot of readers are going to end up confused like I was. Once I got into the book and kind of figured out what was going on, it was fine. The story started moving, and the pieces started making sense together–I still felt like I was playing catch up the whole time, though.

I think if I started with the first book, I would have liked this a lot more. It’s the type of historical fiction I generally enjoy–the family is large and complicated; the story mostly focuses in one time period, but we do see flashes of the past. I probably won’t go back and start over myself, but I do recommend starting at the beginning if this is the type of book that interests you. Don’t try to read it by itself, it’s too complicated a story and it needs the enrichment from the beginning.

William Morrow provided a copy of this book for an unbiased review. This post contains affiliate links.

BUY HERE:

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get the latest posts delivered to your mailbox: