Tag: January

Mira Lee: Everything Here is Beautiful

Two sisters: Miranda, the older, responsible one, always her younger sister’s protector; Lucia, the vibrant, headstrong, unconventional one, whose impulses are huge and, often, life changing. When their mother dies and Lucia starts to hear voices, it’s Miranda who must fight for the help her sister needs — even as Lucia refuses to be defined

Jennifer Finney Boylan: Long Black Veil

Publishers Weekly’s Best Books of 2017  For fans of Donna Tartt and Megan Abbott, a novel about a woman whose family and identity are threatened by the secrets of her past, from the New York Times bestselling author of She’s Not There On a warm August night in 1980, six college students sneak into the dilapidated ruins of

Virginia Woolf: Flush

This story of Elizabeth Barrett Browning’s cocker spaniel, Flush, enchants right from the opening pages. Although Flush has adventures of his own with bullying dogs, horrid maids, and robbers, he also provides the reader with a glimpse into Browning’s life. Introduction by Trekkie Ritchie. Most of us know Virginia Woolf’s work:  Mrs. Dalloway, To the Lighthouse, Orlando. However,

Cat Sebastian: It Takes Two to Tumble

Some of Ben Sedgwick’s favorite things: Helping his poor parishioners Baby animals Shamelessly flirting with the handsome Captain Phillip Dacre After an unconventional upbringing, Ben is perfectly content with the quiet, predictable life of a country vicar, free of strife or turmoil. When he’s asked to look after an absent naval captain’s three wild children,

Tom Reiss: The Black Count

Here is the remarkable true story of the real Count of Monte Cristo – a stunning feat of historical sleuthing that brings to life the forgotten hero who inspired such classics as  The Count of Monte Cristo  and  The Three Musketeers.  The real-life protagonist of The Black Count, General Alex Dumas, is a man almost unknown today yet

Marieke Nijkamp: Before I Let Go

READ WHEN SAFE Best friends Corey and Kyra were inseparable in their snow-covered town of Lost Creek, Alaska. When Corey moves away, she makes Kyra promise to stay strong during the long, dark winter, and wait for her return. Just days before Corey is to return home to visit, Kyra dies. Corey is devastated―and confused.
Follow

Get the latest posts delivered to your mailbox: